![]() |
Medical Library |
Phone:425-688-5137 Fax:425-688-5638 |
Home | Catalog | Books| Journals |Databases| Other Resources |Subject Guides | Services
Databases
Access to most databases are limited to Overlake Hospital staff and registered hospitalists.
|
Databases by Format
|
Database Descriptions
|
Database Search Services
|
MDConsult | Mosby's Nursing Consult | Ovid | STAT!Ref (also available through HEAL-WA) |
Tips: To find a particular book Search the online catalog
You might also be interested in Bibliographies .
CINAHL (through HEAL-WA)|Evidence
Based Medical Reviews (includes Cochrane)| Tips:
If you are not sure
which database to choose select PubMed.
Healthstar
|
MDConsult |Medline
<1950-pres>
Medline <1996-pres>|
Mosby's Nursing Consult
|Ovid |
ProQuest
|
PubMed
|Science Direct |
New: HEAL-WA is a collection of health information resources funded by license fees from selected healthcare providers in Washington State. Key databases include CINAHL, PsycInfo and Social Work Abstracts.
Tips: You might want to try the New Search engine Mednar which searches PubMed, MedlinePlus and the Cochrane Library in a single search.
Dynamed (Diseases and Conditions) MICROMEDEX (Drugs), Online Health Library, Up To Date
You might also want to look at: ACP Medicine (paper only)
Tip: Also consult General Medicine, Reference Sources, Medical Search Engines or Web Portals
Description
of Popular Databases Access to most databases
are limited to Overlake Hospital staff and registered hospitalists. Access to
databases within the Overlake Hospital is usually seamless, but
those accessing databases remotely are often prompted for passwords. Email
Us!
or Phone:425-688-5137
to request a password list. Other databases are listed in the Databases by
Subject Specialty. Tutorials:
Ebscohost
general tutorial Tutorial
on advanced searching (Ebsco) Tutorials:
Tutorials:
A tutorial is
available to help with self directed searching.
An Up-To-Date
Tutorial is
available here.
For a tutorial try How
to use MDConsult or the QuickGuide.
Tutorials for searching Medline are available for both PubMed
and OVID.
For information on searching by MESH headings see Branching
Out: the MESH vocabulary. HEAL-WA's
subscription provides access to PsycARTICLES, Mantis, PsycINFO,
Social Work Abstracts and NASW Clinical Register. HEAL-WA
also provides access to OVID. Only select medical groups have access to this resource, but this
group does include registered nurses, physicians, and social
workers. The HEAL WA Fact Sheet outlines the other eligible
groups.
The HEAL site has a registration
form to obtain a password. Consult
the
OvidSP
User Documentation web for assistance with
searching OVID. Try the tutorial on
Basic
Search
or The
Quick Reference Guide . Click
Here for a STAT!Ref
Tutorial. An Up-To-Date
Tutorial is
available here.
Database Name
Database Description
Access and Tutorial
AMED
A bibliographic database of
journal articles in allied health fields as well as those that
practice alternatives to
conventional medicine.
Available through HEAL-WA.
Only select medical groups have access to this resource, but this
group does include registered nurses, physicians, and social
workers. The HEAL WA Fact Sheet outlines the other eligible
groups.
The HEAL site has a registration
form to obtain a password.
CINAHL
Full text access
to over 600 journals in nursing, biomedicine, health sciences
librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health
and 17 allied health disciplines. All the full text journals within this collection can be found in
our online catalog. Here is the list.
Available through HEAL-WA.
Only select medical groups have access to this resource, but this
group does include registered nurses, physicians, and social
workers. The HEAL WA Fact Sheet outlines the other eligible
groups.
The HEAL site has a registration
form to obtain a password.
Cochrane
LibraryThe Cochrane Library is part of the Evidence-Based
Medicine Reviews (EBMR). The Cochrane Library
is an online collection of databases that brings together in one
place rigorous and up-to-date research on the effectiveness of
healthcare treatments and interventions, as well as methodology
and diagnostic tests.
Access to EBMR is provided by
Ovid. Access
to this database is limited to Overlake Hospital staff and registered
hospitalists. Access to
databases within the Overlake Hospital is usually seamless but ask
the librarian for the password if you need access from your
office.
Dynamed
This provides over 3000 summaries of medical topics. It's use is primarily at the point of care and emphasis is on
diseases and conditions.
Available through HEAL-WA.
Only select medical groups have access to this resource, but this
group does include registered nurses, physicians, and social
workers. The HEAL WA Fact Sheet outlines the other eligible
groups.
The HEAL site has a registration
form to obtain a password.
Ebsco article finder
This is part of the Electronic
Journal Service (Ebsco). it provides a quick search through the articles that we have within journals acquired through
Ebsco. It is a small database, but all of the articles will be
available in full text. You can search for an article by a keyword
in the title or abstract, can search for an author or a citation.
Access to
the full text articles within this database is limited to Overlake Hospital staff and registered
hospitalists.
Ebscohost
HEAL-WA
provides several databases hosted through the vendor Ebsco.
They include Alt HealthWatch, AMED, CINAHL full text, Cochrane
Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of
Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of
Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), The Health Technology
Assessments (HTA), Medline (full text), and NHS Economic Evaluation
Database (NHS EED).
Available through HEAL-WA.
Only select medical groups have access to this resource, but this
group does include registered nurses, physicians, and social
workers. The HEAL WA Fact Sheet outlines the other eligible
groups.
The HEAL site has a registration
form to obtain a password.
Evidence-Based
Medicine Reviews (EBMR)
EBMR is comprised of
several different databases which provide systematic reviews of
topics; article reviews; and access to definitive controlled
trials. You can search the entire database, the full text only
database, or the individual databases.
Access to EBMR is provided by
Ovid. Access
to this database is limited to Overlake Hospital staff and registered
hospitalists. Access to
databases within the Overlake Hospital is usually seamless but ask
the librarian for the password if you need access from your
office.
HEAL-WA
HEAL-WA
is a collection of health information resources and databases funded by license
fees from selected healthcare providers in Washington State. Click here
for a list of HEAL WA databases.
Only select medical groups have access to this resource, but this
group does include registered nurses, physicians, and social
workers. The HEAL WA Fact Sheet outlines the other eligible
groups.
The HEAL site has a registration
form to obtain a password.
HealthSTAR
The HealthSTAR database provides access to the published
literature of health services technology, administration, and
research.
This database is available on Ovid.
Access to this database is limited to Overlake Hospital staff and registered
hospitalists. Access to this database within the Overlake Hospital is usually
seamless but ask
the librarian for the password if you need access from your
office.
Lexi-Interact Online
This
database covers the area of drug interactions. It also includes interactions
with natural products.
This database is accessed through Up To Date.
Access is
restricted to Overlake Hospital staff and registered hospitalists. You must be within the
Overlake Hospital to gain access.
MDConsult
MD Consult provides access to leading medical books, over 50
full text journals, Yearbooks and Clinics of North America, drug
information, online medical news, images and a wide variety of other
resources. You can limit your search to a specific journal or clinics title, author, date, clinical focus, age and/or study group.
Each of the journals within this collection can be accessed from our online catalog. Here is the list of
journals and list
of books from MDConsult.
Access to
this database is limited to Overlake Hospital staff and registered
hospitalists. Access to this database within the Overlake Hospital is usually
seamless. To obtain a user ID and password you need to
register
(within the hospital network).
This page allows you to log in or create a new account. Once
registered you can use your login to access MDConsult anytime
from your office.
Medline
This database is considered the world's most
comprehensive source of life sciences and biomedical bibliographic
information, with nearly eleven million records. HEAL-WA
provides access to the full text version
which has the full text of
more than 1400 journals.All of these full text
journals can be found in our catalog. Here is the
list.
Medline is available through Ovid,
MDConsult,
Medscape
(free
registration required) ,
PubMed,
and through HEAL-WA. Access
through Ovid and MDConsult is restricted to Overlake Hospital
staff and registered hospitalists. Access to
these
databases within the Overlake Hospital is usually seamless but ask
the librarian for the password if you need access from your
office.
MICROMEDEX
MICROMEDEX is a collection of different drug databases
and includes information on side
effects, dosages, interactions, and all FDA approved medications.
Access to
this database is limited to Overlake Hospital staff and registered
hospitalists. It can be accessed through the Overlake Hospital
intranet or a networked computer located at the Overlake
Hospital.
Mosby's Nursing Consult
This database provides access to a wide variety of nursing information. This
includes drugs, patient education, journals, books, news, clinical
practice, evidence-based content and care planning tools. Here
is the list
of journals and a list
of books found in this database.
Access to
this database is limited to Overlake Hospital staff and registered
hospitalists. It can be accessed through the Overlake
Hospital intranet or a networked computer located at the
Overlake Hospital.
Mosby's Nursing Skills
This is an online skills and procedures
reference system. The site features over 800 interactive skills from
five reference texts. Skills are indexed alphabetically, as well as
by specialty and category. Each skill features color illustrations,
text, references and videos.
Access to
this database is limited to Overlake Hospital staff and registered
hospitalists. It can be accessed through the Overlake
Hospital intranet or a networked computer located at the
Overlake Hospital.
NLM Gateway
The NLM Gateway allows users to search in multiple retrieval systems
at the U.S. National Library of Medicine
(NLM). The current Gateway searches a wide variety of
databases outlined in their Overview.
Free access to anyone.
Nursing Reference Center
This database is a comprehensive reference tool designed to provide
full text relevant clinical resources to nurses and other healthcare professionals, directly at the point-of-care. This contains a
wealth of best practice guidelines, evidence based care sheets,
nursing guides, point of care drug information, etc. A list of
books can be found here.
Available through HEAL-WA.
Only select medical groups have access to this resource, but this
group does include registered nurses, physicians, and social
workers. The HEAL WA Fact Sheet outlines the other eligible
groups.
The HEAL site has a registration
form to obtain a password.
Ovid
Ovid provides access to
online books and full text journals
in the broad area of health and medicine.
Ovid also provides access to many databases. Our subscription to Ovid provides access to Medline <1950-pres>,
Healthstar <1966-Current> and Evidence-Based
Medicine Reviews (EBMR).
Access
is restricted to Overlake Hospital staff and registered
hospitalists. Access to this database within the Overlake Hospital is usually
seamless but ask
the librarian for the password if you need access from your
office.
ProQuest
Direct
ProQuest is a resource of electronic
collections containing millions of articles originally published in magazines, newspapers, and journals.
It covers a diversity of topics from a wide variety of
disciplines. Consult the list
of journals available.
Access
is restricted to Overlake Hospital staff and registered
hospitalists. Access to this database within the Overlake Hospital is usually
seamless but ask
the librarian for the password if you need access from your
office.
PubMed
PubMed is a service of the U.S.
National Library of Medicine that includes over 18
million citations from MEDLINE and other life science
journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
Topics covered
include nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the
healthcare system, and the pre-clinical sciences. Many
of the citations have abstracts. If our library
has the item in paper copy or full text, an Overlake
icon will appear. Click the icon to download the
article. There is also specialized
searches in categories such as etiology, diagnosis prognosis
, etc. There are several PubMed Search interfaces you
might like to try such as eTBlast,
HubMed or Introtrieve.
Free access to anyone.
Science
Direct
We only subscribe
to some of the full text journals available through Science Direct. A
list of journals we subscribe to are located here.
Access
is restricted to Overlake Hospital staff and registered
hospitalists. Access to this database within the Overlake Hospital is usually
seamless but ask
the librarian for the password if you need access from your
office.
Sciverse
Sciverse offers access to Science Direct, MDConsult and other web
content.
Access
is restricted to Overlake Hospital staff and registered
hospitalists. Access to this database within the Overlake Hospital is usually
seamless but ask
the librarian for the password if you need access from your
office.
Statref
This provides access to an online
medical textbook
collection. These are all found through our online catalog.
Access
is restricted to Overlake Hospital staff and registered
hospitalists. Access to this database within the Overlake Hospital is usually
seamless but ask
the librarian for the password if you need access from your
office.
Up To Date
Up-To-Date provides up to date medical
information on over 7000 topics. It includes a drug database as well as links to Medline
abstracts, illustrations and texts. Find the most important new medical findings since
the last release.
Access
is restricted to Overlake Hospital staff and registered
hospitalists. You must be within the
Overlake Hospital to gain access.
Home
| Catalog
| Books|
Journals
|Databases|
Other Resources
| Subject
Guides | Services